A Vote For The Future

I just voted for a woman to be president and wow did it feel good. 

As a woman, to see someone of my own gender rise to this occasion, to battle through the mud and misogyny and hate, to persevere, it’s so quintessentially female, and that’s empowering. 

Of course, voting for Hillary was an easy choice, especially this year. And not just because her opponent is a proven racist, misogynistic, xenophobic bigot (that’s not name calling, that’s just a fact with miles worth of tweets as proof), but because she is truly the most qualified person to ever take on this role. 

It’s easy to be on the right side of history. It’s not hard to look at the platforms and see that a vote for Hillary is a vote for equality, a vote for progress and a vote that will help bring about needed parity to this generation and the generations to come. 

I will proudly tell my future children that I voted for President Hillary Clinton. I pray that they will never have to learn about a man who’s entire campaign has been about bringing this country backwards, to a time when women not only didn’t have a right to their own bodies, but didn’t have a right to have a say in this country. No, the next generation deserves to see a better life than we have. They deserve to see women in power who instead of being dismissed, or laughed at, or straitght up reviled, are instead respected and looked up to. 

So I voted for Hillary Clinton. I voted for a brighter future for this country and I believe that a Clinton presidency will bring us closer to that than we’ve been in a very long time. 

I hope you all vote, too. Make your voice heard and be thankful that we live in a country that allows history to happen. 

Author: htag24

I'm a pop culture enthusiast, a TV junkie, an avid reader, an expert juggler, a sports nerd, a quirky writer, a dog lover, oh and I'm literally Taylor Swift's biggest fan. (Okay, probably not literally, but I bet I know more of her song lyrics than you.) I'll be posting on here new things and links to some old things I've written. Hope you enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

